Superfast Cranberry Pineapple Sauce

Ah, those gorgeous colors of fall. And I don’t just mean the trees! I love the saturated, contrasting color of autumn foods. I waited patiently for cranberries to re-emerge on the shelves, and excitedly picked up the first bag I saw. While it was the middle of the day and I should have been doing homework, I simply couldn’t wait any longer to make this year’s first batch of cranberry sauce.

wb_0735layout

Now I know what you’re thinking: “I can find a recipe for cranberry sauce on the back of the bag.” Well that may be true. But I for one have a hard time ruining perfectly beautiful cranberries with refined white sugar. Sorry! Just can’t do it.

Anyway, I like a lot of cranberry sauce on my Tofurky, or whatever cranberry vehicle is on my plate. And that means a lot of cranberry sauce, considering everything is a vehicle for cranberries in my book. So around Thanksgiving each year, I search the web for a lightened up cranberry sauce, never to find one I like. This year I decided to get it down to a science and share it with you lovely people.

This cranberry is lightened up, but has such complex, bright flavors you’ll never miss all that sugar. It’s tangy, subtly sweet and gorgeously healthful. The maple syrup sets it up beautifully, and gives it that extra fall -esque comforty flavor. So quick to make, it’s an any- day affair.

Kabocha, kale, Barry's Tempeh (all 3 steamed out of laziness/hunger) and Superfast cranberry-pineapple sauce.

Kabocha, kale, Barry’s Tempeh and Superfast Cranberry-Pineapple sauce.

It’s perfect to accompany basics like squash, (I used kabocha here) and for complimenting any savory veggie protein staple. For me it was the incomparable Barry’s Tempeh, (so good it needs no marinade) but future plans include robust Apple-Sage Field Roast Sausages, and of course, Celebration Loaf. And I won’t judge you if you simply spoon it onto Tofurky slices in front of the refrigerator. (hmm, I wonder who has been doing just that?;)

The gorgeous, saturated color that makes cranberries so nice to look at is also why they are amazing antioxidants. In that red color are the polyphenols- phytochemicals that have some of the most potent antioxidant activity. Polyphenols may contribute to cardiovascular health, immunity, and play an important role in cancer prevention. So get those cranberries in- as usual, without dairy, as dairy inhibits antioxidant activity.

So get this sauce on the stove and listen to the music of the popping cranberries- one of my favorite sounds! Serve up the sauce with your favorites, and bask in the warm Thanksgiving-like vibe without feeling like you need to open your pants.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Hope you have a wonderful day filled with family, friends, joy and compassion. I consider all animals my friends, and I don’t eat my friends! Turkeys are no exception- my table will be full of delicious plant-based foods. Around this time of year I think about how special turkeys are- so does Karen Dawn. I hope you’ll watch this heartwarming rescue story – it shows how loving, warm and friendly these birds truly are- just like your cats and dogs.

Cranberry – Pineapple Sauce

Recipe notes: About stevia- make sure to get a good quality brand. Some are just crazy bitter, causing many to believe they don’t like stevia. It doesn’t have to be that way! I suggest Trader Joe’s organic, or 365 brand from Whole foods. If you know any other good ones, please share in the comments! If you’re not into stevia, don’t worry- just follow the no-fail tried and tested non-stevia sweetening directions below.

Ingredients:

12 oz package cranberries

1/3 cup water

2 Tbsp maple syrup

2 tiny stevia spoonfuls (about 1/8 tsp)

3/4 cup fresh pineapple, diced

Method:

Add cranberries, water and maple syrup to a small pot. Bring to a boil, stir, then reduce to low-medium and cover partially, just so that the cranberries don’t splutter everywhere! After about 7-10 minutes, add pineapple and one tiny stevia spoon-full of stevia, stir well to incorporate. Cook until pineapple is just soft enough and the water is fully incorporated. (in total, about 15 minutes) Check for sweetness, mix in the second spoon of stevia at this point if it’s too tart.

This sauce is a lightened up version of a classic, but if you’re not into stevia, sub in 1/3 to 1/2 cup maple syrup. (start with 1/3, add a bit more if needed. I find 1/3 cup is perfect, but you may like it sweeter.)

One comment

Leave a Reply

